As promised, an interview with the lovely author of the Children of the Gods series. The second book, Uprising was released last week, and I’m excited to have gotten a chance to ask some of the things on my mind!

The author’s self-provided bio:

Jessica Therrien is the author of the young adult paranormal fiction series Children of the Gods. Book one in the series, Oppression, was published by ZOVA Books in February of 2012 and became a Barnes & Noble best-seller shortly after its release. The second book in the series, Uprising, will be available in May of 2013.

Aside from her Children of the Gods series, Jessica’s work can also be found in a published collection of flash fiction stories called Campaigner Challenges 2011. Out of over 350 submissions her story, The Soulless, won first place for people’s choice and fourth place in the judging round of Rachael Harrie’s Writing Campaign Challenge. Her story, Saved, is also available as part of the anthology.

Jessica currently lives in Chula Vista with her husband and is working on book three in her Children of the Gods series.

And now, the interview:

How did you come up with the idea for Children of the Gods?

I love books that draw me so deep into their fantasy world that I start to question whether or not it could actually be real. Even though my series is considered paranormal, I wanted my readers to be drawn in to a different reality. I was intrigued by the idea that if a supernatural race of humans existed in ancient Greece, their long lives and special powers would cause them to be mistaken for gods. It was the perfect way to justify a history for a secret race of people who live among us today.

How long do you usually spend writing new material versus revising for each book?

It’s different for every book. It took me several years to write Oppression (book1). I was writing at my own pace and enjoying every moment. Revisions for that book were lengthy because I was so new at writing. With Uprising, I had a deadline. I finished the book rather quickly. The revisions were equally quick due to deadlines.

Are any of your characters inspired by real people?

Yes! William is based on my husband, and Elyse is based on me. Many of my characters are based on people in my life. Anna, Betsy, and Nics are all based on people I know. Others are all their own.

Congratulations on your son! Will he get to read your books? At what age would you choose for him (or any other young reader) to read them?

Thank you!! 🙂 I just love him. Yes, of course he will get to read my books. I think I’ll make him wait until he is maybe twelve. It depends on his (and other young reader’s) maturity level.

How much longer do you think the Children of the Gods series could be? Can you see yourself writing another series after you’ve brought it to a close?

Right now I’m writing the third book in my series. I’m not sure if there will be a fourth. We’ll see. I’m definitely going to write a standalone novel next. It’s fun but HARD to write a series. You have to promote the release of one book while writing the next. I’d like to give all my energy to one book.

Are you for or against the love triangle plot mechanism?

It’s a love hate relationship. I don’t like them, but I’m always intrigued by them. It’s a great way to create drama in a story, but I don’t ever want someone to be left unhappy at the end.

Where’s your favorite writing spot?

It changes. The kitchen table. The couch. The passenger seat in my husband’s car while he’s driving.

What activities do you enjoy (other than writing)?

Right now, being a new mom is my number one hobby. It’s so much fun! I’m sure once I’m not living and breathing baby I’ll get back to my other loves: playing guitar, sewing, scrapbooking, making jewelry…

If you had to pick just one, what would your favorite word be?

Love.

Any last thoughts for your readers or potential readers?

Thank you! I’m so grateful for everyone who has read and enjoyed my books.

 

I’ve got my copy of Uprising, but I haven’t finished it yet . . . Review to come. In the meantime, read it for yourself!
Uprising is available on Amazon for $0.99 and Oppression is available for $2.99. They’re also out in bookstores in the US, so go look around and support a local business!

It was great to get to interview Jessica Therrien, and I’m really excited to finish Uprising!

Happy Tuesday,
Rosey