I can’t wait to bring you guys some reviews but because this week has been hectic and full of music and catching up on months of sleep, here’s a few of my favorite books with touching music moments.

the name of the wind The Name of the Wind– Hands down wins as one of the few books that had me bawling at the music scenes. One of the best part of the books I still can’t get that awesome power that Pat gives to his words and the raw emotions that dig at me when Kvothe plays. Call me a crazy lady but this book touches the soul of what it means to be a musician.

0-545-20337-6

The Clockwork Three-I read this during a time when I was getting a little tired of the steampunk fad but this book managed to make me both sad and incredibly happy. An enchanted violin? I’m sold.

seraphinaSeraphina-Okay so maybe I loved this one because 1) I play the flute too and 2) dragons. Bringing the technicality and soul of music couldn’t be brought together any better than this.

throne of glassThrone of Glass-I don’t know whether to count this as a major music moment book but there was one scene that I had to reread again and then again just because the words were perfect.

promise of the witch-kingPromise of the Witch-King-Another book that has a flute int it but what fascinated me was not only this book but the entire series about some not so great and goodly protagonists. This is makes the list because it isn’t about the redemption of an assassin, far from it, and yet, he does find something akin to it thanks to a magical item called Idalia’s flute. A must read series if you’re a fantasy fan I’ll tell you.

So these are some books that I’ve read the last couple of years that had me a little weepy-eyed because they had some great musical moments. What books have you read recently that had a touching moment involving music?

Happy reading,

Tally

P.S. Apologies for the formatting, can’t seem to get it to behave.

