Tomorrow Land Mari Mancusi zombie apocalypse
Title: Tomorrow Land
Author: Mari Mancusi
Pages: 5,779 (Kindle Fire)
Rating: 3/5

I really liked Tomorrow Land, though I’m not sure whether it’s dystopian or not. I would still post about it if I was sure though… So probably not that important. Interesting, though. Also interestingly, approximately one third of this book takes place at Disneyland. The other parts take place in weird post-apocalyptic towns and box stores which provide ample room to hide from the zombies. That’s right, zombies. We’ve finally hit a zombie book. It’s about time, no?

Anyhow, I’m not very well versed in zombie books, but I think from a YA dystopian-obsessed point of view Tomorrow Land was pretty good. I liked the world, though I was slightly confused a few times, and I loved how the story progressed in a non-linear fashion (think Contagion) so you didn’t get to learn how things had started until it seemed like they were ending. I’ve always been a sucker for the wibbly-wobbly-timey-wimey plot style.

Peyton is the last girl alive, thanks to the safehouse her father built her before the zombies took over. After the programmed containment period, Peyton is released into a world full of unknowns, left to fester in the zombie virus since she last knew it. She must be prepared for anything. She’s been keeping fit, mentally and physically, just like her father told her to. She knows she can handle the zombies.

But can she handle the people she meets in the supposedly dead world?

This book had a love line. Very nice, back and forth, no triangle, pentagon, dodecahedron stuff happening here. It was quite refreshing. The love interests argued and things, but it was more over whose fault the infection of their companion(s – happened more than once) was than whether or not they were the favorite. It made things much more realistic, from my point of view.

I can’t talk too much about the zombie infestation thing (spoilers (not spoiler alert, but that’s why I can’t explain in detail all the facets of the zombie infestation)), which I’ve found can make or break an apocalypse novel, but I was satisfied well enough by the ‘scientific’ explanation, and thankful it actually played into the book, because sometimes there is no to very little scientific explanation (looking at you, paranormal romance) because ‘it’s not important to the plot’ which makes me want to cry and stop reading. Science is always important to me as a reader, though I am quite the nerd.

I realize this is kind of a shortish review, but I read the book in like three hours at midnight-3am, so forgive me if I haven’t come up with a gorgeous analysis of the inner plot structure. Just know I liked it and would definitely recommend it to someone looking for a nice post-apocalyptic zombie novel.

Hope your 4th was the best,
Rosey

