the girl in the steel corsetTitle: The Girl in the Steel Corset (Steampunk Chronicles #1)
Author: Kady Cross
Pages: 480 (Ebook)
Rating: 3.5/5

Gah, yes I’m guilty of having wanted to read this at just looking at the cover! It’s pretty if a bit misleading which disappointed me (there is a steel corset though, heh). I’ve also been wanting to read a bit of steampunk so I decided to have some fun reading time.

In 1897 England, sixteen-year-old Finley Jayne has no one…except the “thing” inside her.

When a young lord tries to take advantage of Finley, she fights back. And wins. But no normal Victorian girl has a darker side that makes her capable of knocking out a full-grown man….

Only Griffin King sees the magical darkness inside her that says she’s special, says she’s one of “them.” The orphaned duke takes her in against the wishes of his band of misfits: Emily, who has her own abilities and an unrequited love for Sam, who is part robot; and Jasper, an American cowboy with a secret.

Griffin’s investigating a criminal called The Machinist, the mastermind behind several recent crimes by automatons. Finley thinks she can help–and finally be a part of something, finally fit in.

But The Machinist wants to tear Griff’s company of strays apart, and it isn’t long before trust is tested on all sides. At least Finley knows whose side she’s on–even if no one believes her.

 Once the characters settled themselves into their respective personalities, I had a lot of fun with this book. There were some clunky moments and things that I thought the author took an easy way out but I set aside my misgivings and really enjoyed everything. Yes, even the love triangle. The clothing was pretty descriptive and I liked that, it was fun to read each of the character’s style of dress. (Finley has a great taste in clothes)

Jack Dandy was easily the most interesting of the characters, perhaps because we learn so little about him. Cross got the bad boy vibe just right with a hint of vulnerability underneath it all. I liked Finley as the protagonist for the most part, though there were some pity party moments that I thought she might do without but otherwise she really did kick butt. The whole group has some awesome superpowers and they get explained well. Of them all I disliked Sam from the start and I can only say that feeling only improved slightly towards the end.

I won’t say that this book doesn’t have its flaws because it does. But if you’re willing to put them aside I really do recommend this as a fun read. I enjoyed it and will pick up the following book the next time I’m in a mood for some light read!

~Tally

