the savage fortressTitle: The Savage Fortress
Author: Sarwat Chadda
Pages: 292
Rating: 4/5

I’ve decided to spend my summer reading as many middle grade books as I can, and boy, so far, I’m excited with all the talent and stories!

Varanasi: holy city of the Ganges.

In this land of ancient temples, incense and snake charmers…

Where the monsters and heroes of the past come to life…

One slightly geeky boy from our time…

IS GOING TO KICK SOME DEMON ASS.

Ash Mistry hates India. Which is a problem since his uncle has brought him and his annoying younger sister Lucky there to take up a dream job with the mysterious Lord Savage. But Ash immediately suspects something is very wrong with the eccentric millionaire. Soon, Ash finds himself in a desperate battle to stop Savage’s masterplan – the opening of the Iron Gates that have kept Ravana, the demon king, at bay for four millennia…

 I love going to other places in the world, especially when the author can make you almost taste the culture. I’ve always liked reading mythology and this book is full of good Hindu. I liked Ash and his sister Lucky right from the start. The book was packed with gut-wrenching moments and the best part, the villains were evil. You can totally fear and hate these guys without hesitation.

My favorite scene was at the beginning, when Ash first meets Parvati and Rishi without knowing how important they’re going to be. Not a spoiler I promise. Parvati is just epically cool, a bit distant but it’s part of her character and Chadda did a great job of showing her off in her best (or worst?). Lucky is a cute kid, the little sister, brave but still young. She has her moments that tear at you, and not in a an awww, cute kind of way. Ash, though he’s set up to look like he’s not much, grows in power (does he ever!) but I wasn’t sure he matured enough for my liking. There’s some moments when I wanted to yell at him for his immaturity at critical moments. Comic relief take a bit too far, perhaps.

The ending though! I loved it in all its scary implications! Next book please! You like superheroes with epic superpowers with all the responsibility and scary *spoiler* looking after you? This is your book. For the moment Ash and Lucky leave India but I’m sure problems are going to follow them, especially considering what Ash has become. *zips rambling mouth* Read this book. I really enjoyed it and I hope you will to!

~Tally

