I know I spend an awful lot of time talking about music on my book blog, but today I want to talk a little bit about why books and music go so well together. I am planning on doing this by showing the similar plot lines of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (and the rest of the trilogy) to “He Loves Anna” by Waltz for Debbie. We’ll see how well I actually do.

Actually, after some (fairly halfhearted) searching on the great Grooveshark and then the entire of the known www, I couldn’t find any video/audio for this song, so that will not be part of this post. If you have a Last.fm account (which I don’t) you seem to be able to add it to your library here. (I don’t know what that means but it is possible.) You can listen to a sizable chunk of it on iTunes here, or purchase it for 69 cents if you’re really that dedicated (the band could probably use the money). Due to the lack of listening ability, I will here post the lyrics, as transcribed by me, because the only online lyrics I can find are definitely not to the song I’m talking about.

He loves Anna, big mistake
‘Cause she is no goddess
I love Mikey for a while
But he went to pieces.

She was the princess’ life you know,
Until it all went bad
He’ll be okay, he’ll never rest a day, he’s got it all the wrong way
I’ve seen it all before
It’s all the same once more
I will be a doll
He loves Anna big mistake
‘Cause she is no goddess
I love Mikey for a while but he went to pieces.

She made him long for the greatest love
Then he was left again
He’ll never be okay, he’ll never rest a day, he’s got it all the wrong way
I’ve seen it all before
It’s all the same once more
I will be a doll.

He loves Anna, big mistake
‘Cause she is no goddess
I love Mikey for a while
But he went to pieces.

You and Cameron had a life
‘Till I made you want me
There’s no difference where we end,
We all tried to make it.

He tells me I’m everything
And I tell him okay.

He loves Anna, big mistake
‘Cause she is no goddess
I love Mikey for a while
But he went to pieces.

You and Cameron had a life,
‘Till I made you want me
There’s no difference where we end,
We all tried to make it.

So, pretty much sub in Katniss for Anna, Peeta for Mikey and Gale for Cameron and you’ve pinned down the love triangle for all three books. Peeta loves Katniss for a while but goes to pieces after he gets jacked, Gale and Madge could’ve made a lovely couple but Katniss made him want her. Also I love the “There’s no difference where we end/we all tried to make it” because isn’t that what the games are all about? Also the “It’s all the same once more/I will be a doll” is great because it can be taken that way and also “It’s all the same/ once more I will be a doll” which is pretty much the “I don’t want to be a piece in their games” spiel. (Sorry if you haven’t read the books, you either have no idea what I’m talking about or you have just received a terrible amount of spoilers.) I also love the “he tells me I’m everything/and I tell him okay” bit because that’s pretty much Katniss and Peeta’s relationship for the first book.

I think I did alright. Maybe. Do you have any other examples? I’d love to hear.
Rosey

