I know Tally does Stacking the Shelves, but since I’m sure there’s some affiliation process that I should probably go through to make it official and I’m feeling incredibly lazy this fine spring break evening, I’m just going to post my haul. Minus the weird, carefully laid out photo, because that’s weird, and as previously mentioned, I am too lazy to get out the camera and editing software that I would need to make that look nice enough to be featured here.

I recently visited my local library’s annual book sale. They have a store open all year long where you can get cheap surplus library bounds, but on this special day everything’s 50% off – and when books are $1 and CDs 25 cents each on normal days, you can buy a good amount for the price of a used paperback at the local indie store. I was on a hunt not only for me, but for a certain almost-toddler that I adore, and also for some middle-grade chapter books that I can read out loud when she’s got the attention span. Without further ado, my haul:

Three Rivers RisingThree Rivers Rising by James Richards – I have been courting this book since I read it in probably the sixth grade, but it’s always been a couple bucks too many. Every time I read it I cry, and it’s a beautiful story that I should probably review.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Ask and the Answer The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness – After a friend introduced me to the series with her copy of the first book in the Chaos Walking trilogy, freshly brought back from London with an amazing cover, this library-bound edition of the second book (all three are fantastic, by the way) was not exactly impressive, but the price was. 50 cents? Done.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There Are Things I Want You To Know About Stieg Larsson and Me There Are Things I Want You To Know About Stieg Larsson and Me by Eva Gabrielsson – I loved the Millennium Trilogy, but I also love biographies of Stieg Larsson’s fascinating life. This one is the ultimate work, written by his best friend and romantic interest for <10 years. It was this book that made me realize that the Millennium books weren’t so much fiction as they were a collection of facts. A chilling revelation, maybe, but one that’s greatly impacted my worldview and view of those books.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
The Boxcar Children The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Warner – I loved these stories when I was a kid, and when I saw the opportunity to grab the starter set, I bit. It was delicious.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Animal Lullabies Animal Lullabies by Lila Prapp – This is where we get into the children’s books, but bear with me. This one really is sweet. It’s got a bunch of lullabies for different animals, as stated in the title, but the illustrations are what makes it wonderful. So cute.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Firehouse Light The Firehouse Light by Janet Nolan – This one chronicles the 100 years since a lightbulb was donated to a firehouse, staying lit for the whole time and still going strong today. It’s a true story, and, again, the pictures are great. Also, who doesn’t love firehouses? They were featured in all of my favorite books when I was little. *cough*Busytown*cough*

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bad Bears in the Big City Bad Bears in the Big City by Daniel Pinkwater – One of my favorite Daniel Pinkwater picture books ever. Those bad bears are the best ones out there.

 

 

 

 

 

 

And that’s it, except for a comic book and some Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone on CD (score).

Hoping your Easter haul is as satisfying as my book one was,
Rosey

