EnchantedTitle: Enchanted
Author: Alethea Kontis
R
ating: 4/5
Pages: 305 (Hardback)

This was definitely my favorite of the fairy tale retellings. The Frog Prince was there but other fairy tales’ elements crept in making it a fantastic read.

It isn’t easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday’s only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true.

When Sunday meets an enchanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that friendship deepens into something magical. One night Sunday kisses her frog goodbye and leaves, not realizing that her love has transformed him back into Rumbold, the crown prince of Arilland—and a man Sunday’s family despises.

The prince returns to his castle, intent on making Sunday fall in love with him as the man he is, not the frog he was. But Sunday is not so easy to woo. How can she feel such a strange, strong attraction for this prince she barely knows? And what twisted secrets lie hidden in his past – and hers?

The beginning started off pretty light with me having no clue how it would play out. Alethea Kontis gave us the background to our heroine Sunday and her large family. Mini stories within the greater story that had me reading still. We meet the frog right off. I was a bit nervous because it was interesting. Not great yet. And then it turned dark. I’m not sure how Ms. Kontis pulled it off but I was finally, fully hooked.

Sunday didn’t put me completely under her charm but she was sweet and smart with quite some power under her belt. I really wish there would have been a bigger role for magic but as it was, it was perfect for the story. It’s fun to see how she learns (at first unwillingly) to control her new powers and the tales she weaves while doing so. The writing style was fluid and provided vivid imagery. Would you love to attend a ball full of elegance and pomp? This is your book.

As for our frog, no excuse me, our prince, Rumbold…  I found nothing to fault him with. Strong but not without weaknesses he provided a deeper depth to the book and was cloaked by the darkness that suddenly flooded the book. But the one who stole the show was the fae cousin. I am attracted  like a moth to the interesting ones, what can I say? (Interesting as in secretive and swoon-worthy… there, I said it.)

I loved this book so much. Dancing around Sunday and then to one of the sisters, the plot kept me guessing. Some might find the plot a bit loose and introduced late (is that possible?) but I didn’t mind. The ending wasn’t what I expected and felt a bit rushed but I still want to read the next book.

I would venture to say that all the Frog Prince elements were there, from the golden ball (in another form) to the modernly added kiss. Fae godmothers, immortal kings, and blessings or curses I can’t wait for Hero the next book in the Woodcutter Sisters series!

Thanks for joining me with Project: Fairy Tale!
projectfairytalebutton

