Stolen Children by Peg Kehret Title: Stolen Children
Author: Peg Kehret
Pages: 165 (Scholastic edition)
Rating: 4.9/5

This books is probably the best middle grade there is out there. It is fabulous. Everyone in the universe should read it, even if you’re 150. But before I review, let me just say something about the author, Peg Kehret:Stolen Children by Peg Kehret

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kehret wrote this books when she was 72, and she is the most rocking author I’ve heard about yet. I honestly though that Stolen Children was written by a twentysomething who had a bachelors in English Lit or something, but no, Peg Kehret lives on a wildlife preserve and does all kinds of awesome things with/for animals while simultaneously writing for ages 8-15. This is probably the best thing I’ve learned about in the entire of 2013. It’s amazing.

Now, back to her book, Stolen Children follows Amy, babysitter and teenager, through her bout of full-on childrearing when she and her sat-baby (a word? I think yes) are kidnapped by some very strange characters. The kidnappers send videos back to her parents and the parents of her sat-baby (still a word), trying to work a huge ransom out of sat-baby’s wealthy parents. (Sat-baby’s name is Kendra, FYI.) It is seriously one of the best middle-grade thrillers ever. The writing is excellent, the narrative style doesn’t talk down to the reader as is common in middle grade.

I’ve read Stolen Children probably a million bajillion (also a word) times, and if you’ve been following Bookmarks you’ll know it made it on my list of Top Ten Books from Rosey’s Childhood and Beyond, coming in at number four. It’s one of my favorite books of all time, middle grade, YA, or full on adult.

Almost halfway through the week,
Rosey

