wakeTitle: Wake
Author: Lisa McMann
Pages: 210 (Paperback)
Rating: 2.5/5

I’ve always seen this book around but never got to picking it up. A good friend of mine got it for me as a late Christmas present and I promptly ate it up.

For seventeen-year-old Janie, getting sucked into other people’s dreams is getting old. Especially the falling dreams, the naked-but-nobody-notices dreams, and the sex-crazed dreams. Janie’s seen enough fantasy booty to last her a lifetime.
She can’t tell anybody about what she does they’d never believe her, or worse, they’d think she’s a freak. So Janie lives on the fringe, cursed with an ability she doesn’t want and can’t control.
Then she falls into a gruesome nightmare, one that chills her to the bone. For the first time, Janie is more than a witness to someone else’s twisted psyche. She is a participant.

 I didn’t mind the journal-like format which coming from me is pretty big. Janie gives a realistic feel and Ms. McMann, well she does a good job of giving Janie that overwhelming tiredness that comes from juggling school, work, and lack of sleep. *salutes the other students of the world*

I like Cabe. There, I said it. He’s intriguing, him and his secrets and while I didn’t like how Janie dealt with her emotions towards him at some points, the romance is neatly written and believable. I’d say the book was more driven by their relationship because, action-wise, I was not satisfied. All the potentially good scenes happened off page! Ah well, maybe in the next book?

What fun, following Janie as she tries to figure out her powers and the control she has over them. Lucid dreaming? Mhmm, you’ve got my attention. Sounds exhausting to put into practice but I’ll happily continue to read it and Janie’s journey as she discovers how powerful her dream-powers really are. Not really my type of book but I enjoyed reading WAKE.

Happy Monday!
~Tally

