The Girl with Glass Feet by Ali ShawTitle: The Girl with Glass Feet
Author: Ali Shaw
Pages: 287 (hardcover)
Rating: 4/5 (still saving that five stars for unexpected amazingness, but this one comes close)

Ali Shaw’s The Girl with Glass Feet is one of the best books I’ve ever read. I know that I say that a lot here on Bookmarks, but this time I’m particularly serious. On the outside it’s got a teenage-romance-possibly-paranormal appearance and once you’ve read it you realize that you were incredibly wrong. It’s probably one of the most complicated and structurally sophisticated books I’ve ever read, though it’s hard to pinpoint exactly what it is that makes this book so achingly bittersweet and beautiful. Maybe it’s the gorgeous prose, maybe it’s the gorgeous setting, there’s just something in between the covers that is pure magic. Every object in the book seems absolutely beautiful, down to the dirty newspaper on the wet streets. It’s all so timelessly perfect. There’s nothing else to say. Absolutely everything in this book simultaneously makes me want to cry and laugh at the same time. The only word that I can think of to describe the feeling is in Portuguese: Saudades. It’s not easily translatable into English, but there’s a sort of explanation that I like here. It’s a feeling, kind of like you’re missing something in the middle of your heart and you can only kind of remember how it used to feel when it was there. The Girl with Glass Feet is so eerily haunting that it is absolutely unexplainable with my knowledge of the English language. If there’s one book that you read because of my reviews, make it The Girl with Glass Feet. That’s what I can say about it using my big girl words. Other than that, it’s kind of a mix of these songs, if you pay attention to the words of the second and the tone of the first: (no, not actually a playlist review, just some bonus music)

Those were Seaside by The Kooks and Everybody’s Changing by Keane. I really did go into this review planning on being more coherent, but it didn’t happen all that well.

Pulling herself together slowly,
Rosey

