Reached by Ally CondieTitle: Reached
Author: Ally Condie
Pages: 512 (hardcover)
Rating: 3.5/5 stars

I finished Reached over the weekend, and though I did post the official playlist a few days ago, I have to share a few thoughts on this hunk of shiny red pages.

Before I begin, Reached is the commencement to a utopian trilogy (yes, utopian, you really can’t describe it as a dystopian society) based on the idea of a statistics based and run world. The other two were pretty good, and this one was… Read on to find out.

First off, I loved Matched. I enjoyed Crossed, though I found it to be slightly dull at times. Reached was much the same as Crossed, honestly.

I thought that the sciencey part was convincing. I liked the part with the… erm… (no spoilers) outside? The love triangle wasn’t really doing it for me, though. Not being one to take sides, I did have a favorite from the first couple chapters of Matched, and ever since then it’s been getting a little bit on my nervesish. But the part that I found the most disappointing wasn’t that there wasn’t enough suspense as to who was with who, because there was never really a doubt who Cassia would choose (from the very first couple pages of Reached it was pretty clear). I was, however, unsure about who she would end up with, and if you’re going to commit to reading that many pages about a love triangle, you at least want it to be a little bit more exciting than who will be left standing at the end.

Speaking of the end, that was another disappointing thing. [spoiler] Everything turned out fine. Absolutely perfect. WHAT? That was unexpected in a bad way.

[END SPOILER]

All in all, the book was fairly worth the time commitment and $13 I spent on the gorgeous hardcover (is that a pixel I see on the cover, by the way? I would’ve expected more), but it wasn’t something I’m going to rave about forever and ever and ever. In fact, I don’t even think I have to clear off a spot for it on my favorites shelf (Which might actually be a good thing, it’s getting pretty packed).

[spoliers again]
How awesome was the bit where Cassia was the one who put Ky’s name in the sorting pool? How. Clever. Can. You. Be. Absolutely brilliant. It seriously made the book for me.

[no more spoilers, promise],
Rosey

