daughter of smoke and boneTitle: Daughter of Smoke and Bone
Author: Laini Taylor
Pages: 418 (Hardback)
Rating: 3.5/5

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”; she speaks many languages–not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When one of the strangers–beautiful, haunted Akiva–fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

This isn’t the first time I’ve read Laini Taylor’s works. I’ve had the pleasure to read BLACKBRINGER and, comparing the two, BLACKBRINGER is the more lyrical of the two. “Then why aren’t you review that book instead of DofS&B,” you ask. Well, because I’ve waited far too long to catch the train for these much acclaimed books and I had to know for myself why everyone praises the books SO MUCH.

The first few chapters were hard to get into, they held the same lovely writing style of BLACKBRINGER but DAUGHTER was different. Not a bad different, just not what I was expecting. Then I really got into the story. I’m normally not into love stories( how many times have you heard that now?) but I think it was well crafted, the first part was the best though. The second half was one really long flashback and, while interesting, didn’t hold my attention as the first half with Brimstone and teeth and the not knowing.

Karou is a great main character, she keeps things interesting and I loved how Taylor made Karou strong without sacrificing the realness. Zuzana though, ok yes this is just  me probably but the puppet scene moved me unlike most of the book. It all was interesting yes, but it wasn’t until the very last few pages that I felt a tug and knew that this book would stay in my thoughts. As for the love interest… Akiva hasn’t caught my eye yet so to speak. Maybe in Book II?

Overall I loved the freshness of the plot and Laini’s talent with words. I’d love to read the second book soon. If you’ve already read Books I and II try BLACKBRINGER and enjoy more of Laini Taylor’s works.

~Tally

