Incredibly sorry for the lack of posts these past few days. My personal life took a turn for the less conductive to writing or reading. I’ll make it up to you later, promise.

Having said that, Tally and I will be taking the week off to enjoy the holidays, so relax and go eat some pie with crazy uncle Timmy. We’ll be back on Monday with a few more November posts.

Lately I’ve been reading some short fiction, partially due to the inability to read anything longer than ten pages within a reasonable timespan, and partially just because they’re good. My favorite, one that I read for the first time when I was about nine, is A Very Old Man With Enormous Wings: A Tale for Children, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. It’s short (obviously), but it’s also really, really good. It’s the kind of story that doesn’t leave you completely satisfied at the end, but in a good way, because you spend the next couple hours trying to divine meaning from the strange subheading. I’m sure there’s a really good moral in there somewhere, but no matter how many I find nothing’s quite perfect. It’s driving me a good kind of crazy, one that comes from actually thinking about things.

A Very Old Man With Enormous Wings is available to read here.

Enjoy your holidays and tolerate your family,
Rosey

