I know, I know, that title must have scared you like crazy. “Rosey’s actually done it! She’s actually written about her textbook!” No, I have not stooped that low quite yet. I merely have an interesting proposition for all high school students. The book is called Tooth and Nail and it is an amazing advance in studying for the SATs.

Tooth and Nail by Charles Harrington Elster and Joseph Elliot
Title: Tooth and Nail
Author: Charles Harrington Elster and Joseph Elliot
Pages: 366 (paperback, including definition pages & test section)
Rating: Ingenious

This mysterious mystery is absolutely stuffed with SAT words. Each word is in bold, and there’s a definition in the back, along with a quick test you can take after you’ve finished the book. It’s long enough that there are more than 1,300 SAT words and definitions, but it’s not as boring as the 9×10″ heavy lumps of paper that are often used to study. Plus, I know that I am definitely going to remember words better when they’re used not only in a sentence, but in a cohesive story. Also, doesn’t reading a mystery in the pre-SAT season rain sound like more fun than going to test-prep cram school? I think so. And though I know at least 90% of the words (status? Is that actually going to end up on my SATs?), it’s better than sitting around watching Desperate Housewives and halfheartedly flipping through your notes from English 1-2. I’ve noticed that people who are forced to read it for class often have much less respect for it than those who don’t, and even though the average Amazon rating is 3.12, I’m still planning on spending the 10 hours it will take to read the book.

Now back to my reading,
Rosey

