Title: THE MARK OF ATHENA Author: Rick Riordan Pages: 574(Hardback) Rating: 4.5 Yes, I know this post is two days late… SHHHH!! Here’s a short version of the Goodreads summary:

Narrated by four different demigods, The Mark of Athena is an unforgettable journey across land and sea to Rome, where important discoveries, surprising sacrifices, and unspeakable horrors await. Climb aboard the Argo II, if you dare. . . . In The Son of Neptune, Percy, Hazel, and Frank met in Camp Jupiter, the Roman equivalent of Camp Halfblood, and traveled to the land beyond the gods to complete a dangerous quest. The third book in the Heroes of Olympus series will unite them with Jason, Piper, and Leo. But they number only six–who will complete the Prophecy of Seven? The Greek and Roman demigods will have to cooperate in order to defeat the giants released by the Earth Mother, Gaea. Then they will have to sail together to the ancient land to find the Doors of Death. What exactly are the Doors of Death? Much of the prophesy remains a mystery. . . . With old friends and new friends joining forces, a marvelous ship, fearsome foes, and an exotic setting, The Mark of Athena promises to be another unforgettable adventure by master storyteller Rick Riordan.

If you’re already a Riordan fan then I promise you won’t be disappointed by this new book. It has all the epicness that makes Riordan the great storyteller he is. If you haven’t read any of his books then I strongly urge you too, you’re missing out on some great, fun reads.

The first time I heard there would be FOUR characters telling the story, I groaned in horror. Already I wasn’t a big fan of the multiple narrators. But it worked. Sort of. The demigods for this round were Annabeth, Percy, Leo, and Piper. As the story went on the characters grew a bit indistinct, merging into a single personality. Sure they still had their own personal problems but their voice started to sound the same.

Another thing that I had a problem with is that, yes Rick, we know these kids are the most powerful demigods but do you have to make it so easy for them. Call me old but I still remember the good old days when Percy actually had to train to be good at swordfighting. I cheered when later in the book, this problem was addressed. P.S. It involved the sinking of a ship. And dolphins;)

I don’t think it’ll be much of a spoiler to say that the Annabeth/Percy reunion was well worth the year-long wait (curse you for the wait, Riordan!!!). It’s funny but touching too. It’s great seeing all the greatest demigods come together and work towards making it to Rome to save a certain someone.

There’s also the whole Mark of Athena thing. I KNEW it was coming, I won’t say what though. BUT I KNEW IT WAS COMING. Ahem. This book wasn’t as action-packed(swordfighting, awesome demigod powers) as the previous two books but the stakes surprisingly are raised even more. As usual Rick left us with a cliffhanger but I didn’t feel as cheated as I did with the SON OF NEPTUNE.

I urge you to go read it. GO

***

IN OTHER NEWS….

I decided have some fun with Project: Fairy Tale created by Alison over at The Cheap Reader. I love retellings and I’m more than happy to read some more. I’ll be reading at least three The Frog Prince retellings and the ORIGINAL story too. This’ll be a project scheduled for February or March 2013 so there’s some time yet to get organized. Here are some books up for consideration.

Enchanted by Alethea Kontie

The Frog Princess by E.D. Baker

Water Song by Suzanne Weyn

Hopefully I’ll find some more to read by the time next year rolls around. I’m open to suggestions of course and don’t be surprised if I watch some movies to go along with the Project!  I’m really excited to see what the other bloggers are planning:)

Totally abusing the CAPS today,
Tally

