So as I said a few days ago, my weekend plans were Wordstock. And then maybe some more Wordstock. I saw many an author, and many a booth. I saw several people I knew, and many people I wish I knew. Here I shall recount to you 1) my favorite talks and 2)my book signage haul.

Firstly, two of the most amusing people that I’ve ever heard speak, Maria Semple and Lisa Zeidner. They had a great talk that consisted mostly of readings from their hilarious books, Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Love Bomb.

Where'd You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple
Where’d You Go, Bernadette has been on my radar for quite a long time, but it was one of those books that I’d seen over and over and then put back on the shelves. I saw it in a booth and was eventually told that the author would be speaking in like five minutes. So I booked it over to her stage, was astounded for an hour, and then bought the book and got it signed. That’s the way I like my Wordstocks.

Love Bomb by Lisa Zeidner
Paired with Maria Semple was an author that I’d never heard of, and the moment she opened her mouth I knew that I was going to have to invest in Love Bomb as well. She’s honestly funny to listen to, and I can only imagine what her writing must be like. Oh, wait, actually, I know what it’s like, and it’s awesome. I can’t wait to read her book. (Also, she has a gorgeous signature.)

When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
I also saw an amusing talk by the author of When You Reach Me, Rebecca Stead. She was quite nice to hear speak, and it reminded me how much I liked her book, which is middle grade, but a fine read.

Every Day by David Levithan
And finally, David Levithan. Yes, you heard me, author of all authors David Levithan was speaking at wordstock this year. And yet, due to a very unhelpful Wordstock staff member, I did not get to go to his talk. (Cue the crying!) Thankfully I slid in for his signing, so I at least got to talk to this amazing author. Plus, he signed both his new book Every Day and the old favorite Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist with incredibly amusing and clever inscriptions. Thank goodness there’s that.

Heading to bed with my new books,
Rosey

