Title: THE SAINT OF DRAGONS
Author: Jason Hightman
Pages: 364(Paperback)
Rating: 4/5

“Another dragon book,” you grumble. I nod and grin, “of course!”

Thursdays always catch me unawares so this book will again be aimed at a younger audience but I recommend it to everyone with a love of fantasy. Highly. What, you don’t believe in dragons? By the time you finish this book, trust me you will. And since I love the synopsis too much to make up my own, read on:

You’ve been taught to believe they are dead. Figments of an ancient imagination. But one lonely schoolboy at the Lighthouse School for Boys, who has never known his family, and who has never known adventure, is about to have a rude awakening.
Dragons are real. And they have … evolved.
Two descendants remain of the legendary St. George. One is just a teenager. And only they can destroy the dragons that plague the world.

I read this while on an extremely long car ride that passed far to fast for me. I finished this book and was in awe. You think that, after reading so much fantasy you know all the kinds of dragons there are. You don’t, not until you read The Saint of Dragons.

Hightman begins with an introduction which is highly unusual but it works marvelously, setting high expectations. The first chapter is a fine beginning but not yet engaging. It’s the second chapter and on that you give your full attention to the story. What happens when you become the last knight and the responsibility as a parent falls like a slap? Meet Aldric St. George, the father or young Simon.

I enjoyed the bickering and eventual relationship between father and son. It’s fun to see Simon struggle to rise to his father’s standards and make a mess of things. Not to mention accidentally use his father as a pincushion as they encounter and fight the highly individual Dragons. The Paris Dragon is my favorite. Well one of them.

You get to travel the world with the St. Georges in their triumphs and (mostly) failures. Along the way they pick up the gifted Alaythia and more or less keep the Dragons from… wait no, I’ll let you read it for yourself.

This is a fabulous adventure fantasy book but it isn’t the typical black and white scenario. Jason Hightman is smart enough to add those shades of grey often lacking in great fantasy stories. The story continues in Samurai which I have not had the pleasure to read but you can definitely just read The Saint of Dragons and come away fully satisified.

Pondering what dragon book to read next,
Tally

