The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt by Caroline PrestonTitle: The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt
Author: Caroline Preston
Pages: 240 (Hardcover)
Rating: 4/5 stars

For today’s post I bring you a book I finished literally moments ago. Usually I take a bit to think about them but this one was too good to wait.

The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt by Caroline Preston isn’t your average historical novel. It’s kind of a graphic novel. The entire thing was typed out on a Corona typewriter, word by word, and is absolutely full of vintage scrapbooking memorabilia. There is so much work put into every page it’s almost scary. The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt
A single spread from the book.

The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt is set in the 1920s, and most of the book is actually made out of things from that era. The author (coincidentally the daughter of the goddaughter of the namesake of my favorite place on earth) collected everything she put in the book, stuck it in, and then scanned/took pictures of it (not quite sure how that happened). Frankie Pratt has just graduated high school and is planning to become a nurse, even though she has been accepted to Vassar college, a prestigious women’s school.

I don’t feel like I can say much more about the plot because pretty much anything is a spoiler (that actually might be one too . . .), but I can say that I adored every page. Some things might have made me want to throw my copy across the room, but that’s almost the sign of a good book for me.

The whole book is just so beautiful! That’s all I have to say! Every page is different, yet they all tie together quite well. I just adored the whole thing.

Leaving you still slightly staggered and stammering and stunned (and alliterating),
Rosey

