Meet the Austins by Madeleine L'Engle Title: Meet the Austins
Author: Madeleine L’Engle
Pages: 223 (paperback)
Rating: 3/5 stars

First off I want to apologize for the lateish post, I really didn’t mean to let time get away from me. Today I want to bring up a classic that I haven’t thought about in a while, and I hope it helps you remember it as well.

Meet the Austins was a Christmas present oh so long ago, and one that I don’t think would have been as good if I hadn’t read it in the weather that I did.

I spent Christmas at the beach, in an attic room with a view of the ocean, sitting under the heaviest blanket ever and nursing a scorching cup of tea. Meet the Austins was the perfect book for this setting. It should be read during a rainstorm next to a fireplace (a radiator or hot air duct would also be acceptable).

Meet the Austins is a short read, and a pretty low-level book, but it’s cute, and it’s also by Madeleine L’Engle! Who doesn’t want to see what’s been up with her lately? She’s been writing Meet the Austins and the other books in the series, actually.

Anyways, Meet the Austins is about a fairly normal Bobbsey Twins family, sort of a Bells On Their Toes era and feel. The Austins live an exciting life where friends and family drop in for dinner and every problem is resolved by the end of the episode (except it’s a book, not The Brady Bunch), until a friend dies in a plane crash, and the Austins take on a girl with no home. They assume that she’s going to be like another member of the family, but Maggy is anything but. She screams in the night and doesn’t share and expects to be spoiled at every turn, and the Austins aren’t sure what to make of her. Can they turn the situation around, and if not, what will happen to Maggy?

I’ve already mentioned that Meet the Austins is a great middle grade to read around Christmas, just saying that it might make the nice list this year.

Congrats on another week survived,
Rosey

