So after an absolutely awful day like this particular Wednesday, I go home and I read my favorite books. Today I’ve selected five of my favorite books that already had bookmarks in them, opened to the marked page, and picked my favorite parts.

Also, many of these books I’ve already reviewed on Bookmarks. That is because they are my favorite books of all time.

From Jellicoe Road (also called On The Jellicoe Road in Australia and other better-than-America places) by Melina Marchetta:

“If this backfires, there’ll be a war,” I [Taylor] say.
“There already is a war. I think you forget that at times” (185). [Jonah Griggs]

From Looking For Alaska by John Green:

“We had [a pop quiz] that Wednesday morning: Share an example of a Buddhist koan. A koan is like a riddle that’s supposed to help you toward enlightenment in Zen Buddhism. For my answer, I wrote about this guy Banzan. He was walking through the market one day when he overheard someone ask a butcher for his best piece of meat. The butcher answered, “Everything in my shop is the best. You cannot find a piece of meat that is not the best.” Upon hearing this, Banzan realized that there is no best and no worst, that those judgements have no real meaning because there is only what is, and poof, he reached enlightenment. Reading it the night before, I’d wondered if it would be like that for me – if in one moment, I would finally understand her [Alaska], know her, and understand the role I’d played in her dying. But I wasn’t convinced enlightenment struck like lightning” (195).

From The Fault in Our Stars, also by John Green:

“Are you currently at your house?” he [Augustus] asked.
“Um, no,” I [Hazel] said.
“That was a trick question. I knew the answer, because I am currently at your house.”
“Oh. Um. Well, we are on our way, I guess?”
“Awesome. See you soon” (82).

From Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater:

“Sam and I were like horses on a merry-go-round. We followed the same track again and again – home, school, home, school, bookstore, home, school, home, etc. – but really, we were circling the big issue withot ever getting any closer to it. The real heart of it: Winter. Cold. Loss” (250).

From Peeps by Scott Westerfeld:

I headed for the door.
“Meow,” Cornelius [the cat] cried. He was lying in my way.
“Sorry, Corny. Can’t stay” (246).

Just a bit to lighten up your day,
Rosey

