I’ve had my eye on this particular book for a while. When I saw it at the library I couldn’t help but pick it up.

Title: THE NAME OF THE WIND
Author: Patrick Rothfuss
Pages:
Rating 4/5

Told in Kvothe’s own voice, this is the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen.The intimate narrative of his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-ridden city, his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a legendary school of magic, and his life as a fugitive after the murder of a king form a gripping coming-of-age story.

I totally would have read this book in one sitting if I had the time. As it was, I was reading it in my spare time ALL THE TIME. I may have found more ‘spare time’ than usual… If you’ve been paying attention I don’t give out high ratings every other day, I have to really love a story, have it in my mind all the time, to give it a four or higher. A good book has to touch me and make me think. This book is the one fantasy book you want to pick up.

Much like the books of Megan Whalen Turner, THE THIEF series(to be reviewed soon), it has stories within the story. I admit there were times that this bogged down the overall story for a little while at times but you immediately became engrossed in the story being told. The writing also reminded me a bit of Lloyd Alexander(I’m not sure I can explain why but maybe it’ll be an incentive for you to pick this book up!). The prose is lyrical and after a few stumbles at the beginning it comes more naturally.

Kvothe (pronounced Quothe) tells a compelling story through his good years and bad years and you find yourself aching alongside him at the right times. I have to mention this, music has a bittersweet part in the story and I found myself relating highly with him when Kvothe felt a strong urge to play, more specifically to play with your heart, it’s so hard to be separated from your instrument, I know. I think there’s something to be found within the pages of this book for everyone.

I enjoyed this book, the characters are appropriately flawed, despicable, and intruiging. And did I mention how much I loved the world-building? Well handled and I didn’t feel overwhelmed with information as some other fantasy books can be. I’m looking forward to reading its sequel THE WISE MAN’S FEAR. Happy Thursday!

~Tally

