Living in the same state as Ms. McGuire I obtained a signed copy of Providence for myself and one of Beautiful Disaster for a friend during the summer. You may or may not be aware of the buzz/controversy over Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire. I can’t comment on that since I’ve only read the first few chapters of that one.

I’m not big on romance(I’ve only told you like I million times) but Providence has got to be the best paranormal romance I’ve read(not that I have much experience in this genre but still). On with the review.

Title: PROVIDENCE
Author: Jamie McGuire
Pages: 326
Rating: 3/5

Struggling with her father’s recent death, Nina meets Jared Ryel by chance…or so she believes. Although his stunning good looks and mysterious talents are a welcome distraction, it soon becomes clear that Jared knows more about Nina than even her friends at Brown University. When questions outnumber answers, Jared risks everything to keep the woman he was born to save—by sharing the secret he was sworn to protect.

When her father’s former associates begin following her in the dark, Nina learns that her father is not the man she thought he was, but a thief who stole from demons. Searching for the truth behind her father’s death, Nina stumbles upon something she never expected—something Hell wants—and only she holds the key.

One thing that made me like this book so much was that I forgot it was supposed to be a PARANORMAL romance. Seriously, some may find this irking but that certain little thing doesn’t come into play until you’re deep in the grips of this book. For most of story the love interest, Jared seems like a really protective bodyguard with all the high tech toys. Before even that he’s just a really cute stalker(if the creepiness of having a stalker doesn’t scare you).

And then you and Nina find out what he really is. I promise, no spoilers. But there’s a love triangle which I must say, I found the second love interest annoying several times. But that one has the potential of becoming a great character. Jared has a sister, Claire that is just plain cool.

Don’t expect a lot of action in this book. There are a couple of cool scenes but I found it lacking in the whole ‘there’s evil paranormal people out for you’ plot line. What little there was of it anyways. This book is more romance driven than anything else. I liked the characters well enough though they’re nothing special. They did offer some cute romance moments that made me smile.

I will warn you younger audience, I recommend this for the mature 14 year-old and older. Maybe even wait till you’re 15. Yes we get a lot of exposure from all types of sources nowadays but you won’t find me recommending this without a warning. Things get a little hot romance-wise.

It rains one too many times. There are far too many showers for the characters. Being a self-published book there were a few things in formatting that I found distracting(nothing big though).

Which isn’t a bad thing if you’re the romance book type. Overall, yes I would encourage you to pick it up. I’d like to read the next two books though they’re not on my priority list. I’ll be back Thursday!

~Tally

