So Yesterday by Scott WesterfeldTitle: So Yesterday
Author: Scott Westerfeld
Pages: 225 (Hardcover)
Rating: 4/5 stars

Scott Westerfeld is near and dear to many hearts, mine very much included. And though my favorite book is Peeps, I thought I’d do something a little different today, if only because the amount of books on vampires being reviewed already overfills the niche on the internet.

So Yesterday is a book all about labels. But the only company ever mentioned in the book is Google. The rest are conveyed through not-so-subtle descriptions a la “a certain trilogy of movies about cyber-reality and frozen kung fu whose title ends in an X” (confused? Me too).

Hunter (a cool hunter – go figure) meets Jen, and Innovator. Basically that means that he tries to make her original style a widespread trend. A normal boy-meets-girl moment ensues before Hunter drags Jen to a ‘tasting’ – previewing ads for ‘the client,’ “a certain athletic shoe company named after a certain Greek god,” – where Jen introduces a new concept so groundbreaking that it will become a fad in a few weeks and ruin the client’s ad campaign.

A wild goose chase for Hunter’s boss, Mandy, ensues. And as Hunter and Jen navigate the bizarre nooks and crannies of New York, they may be exploring more than they think.

Now, I love a good conspiracy novel, but though So Yesterday could be considered conspiratorial, it really isn’t in the same genre. Something about mixing Scott Westerfeld into things makes it completely new. He lays a brilliant underground fashion government, full of details one wouldn’t necessarily expect of any other author. And yet it’s almost difficult to notice the subtle brilliance that’s pressed between the fashionable covers.

So Yesterday is a bit. . . Well, yesterday, but only in the sense that it was published in 2004. It still feels very current, though it’s slightly reminiscent of when I read it the first time. Several years ago, a friend had checked it out from the library and lent me the copy for only a day or two, so when I found it on a shelf at my bookstore a few days ago, I had to pick it up. It fills out my collection quite nicely, I think.

And, on a completely different note, I just learned that the audiobook of Liesl & Po, by Lauren Oliver, is narrated by Jim Dale, who did the US version of the Harry Potter series. I bought it to listen to at the gym, and it is amazing. Both the story and the narration are perfect, and thoroughly pleasant to listen to.

Congrats on making it through the week,
Rosey

