Title: LIFE EXPECTANCY
Author: Dean Koontz
Pages: 401(Hardback)
Rating: 3.5/5

Because the synopsis on goodreads is super long, I’ll save you from reading it by making it neat and short.

Jimmy Tock is born on a most unusual night, the same night that his grandfather Josef Tock dies but not before making several predictions that will follow Jimmy through life. Five terrible days will plague him.
As Josef Tock says, don’t trust the clown.
Fast forward to the time just before the first of these days. Jimmy Tock is a baker by blood with a great, if sometimes self-deprecating, sense of humor. Which is safest to go on a day foretold to hold great peril for Jimmy the baker? The library, the bank, or the dry cleaner’s?

I gave this book a three and a half star review because its not just good, it had me grinning on more than many occassions. I’ve never read a Dean Koontz book so this was a great pick, while funny it can also be resoundingly philosophical. There were times when the internal thoughts slowed down the plot but it was still a good read.

Like I said, Jimmy Tock is a baker who’s grandfather prophesied five terrible days in his life. The Tock family, with their amusing discussions try to plan for these days but alas, you can’t fight fate. The first of the five days took up a large part of the book and I thought it could have been shorter though it was still good.

I won’t spoil it for you, but I will tell you there are clowns. If you aren’t fond of clowns… erm, I don’t really recommend this for you, the Beezo men are… not your average clowns.

Through all the lovely darkness that surrounded these days, there was light though I won’t say what these events were. They made Jimmy’s fears more real when a Doomsday rolled around and raised the stakes for him.  This book had some obvious twists, others that felt completely thrown in at random, but the book kept me engaged(especially with all those mentions of pastries).

I’m definitely going to be picking up some more Dean Koontz books and I don’t regret reading LIFE EXPECTANCY. I apologize for the lateness of this post too, have a good Thursday night!

~Tally

P.S. Rosey mentioned it was National Read a Book Day, hope you celebrated! What did you read today?

