Title: HEREAFTER
Author: Tara Hudson
Pages: 404(Paperback)
Rating: 3.5/5

Can there truly be love after death?

Drifting in the dark waters of a mysterious river, the only thing Amelia knows for sure is that she’s dead. With no recollection of her past life–or her actual death–she’s trapped alone in a nightmarish existence. All of this changes when she tries to rescue a boy, Joshua, from drowning in her river. As a ghost, she can do nothing but “will” him to live. Yet in an unforgettable moment of connection, she helps him survive.

Amelia and Joshua grow ever closer as they begin to uncover the strange circumstances of her death and the secrets of the dark river that held her captive for so long. But even while they struggle to keep their bond hidden from the living world, a frightening spirit named Eli is doing everything in his power to destroy their newfound happiness and drag Amelia back into the ghost world . . . forever.

I first heard about this book when it first came out last summer and I thought, hey that might be fun to read. Unfortunately I got caught up in a high fantasy fever(not catching, promise, maybe) and I.. forgot. But all can be remedied right?

“I screamed. I screamed as I did in the first flush of death, angry and humiliated at my own lack of power. I screamed and slapped my useless hands against his chest.”

HEREAFTER is the perfect combination of sweet love and paranormal. I’m not big on romance so you wonder why I even read this but this book handles it with ease without drowning the poor reader in sappiness.

While I have no complaints with the romance there were some minor aspects I’ll address. I felt like the story wasn’t as plot driven as it could have been. Amelia is in danger of being fated to spending the rest of forever with Eli but I felt like this plot line wasn’t developed enough. Most of the story is spent with Joshua and Amelia trying to figure out their relationship.

I can’t say much more without giving out spoilers but I will say I might have cried a few times. My heart was pounding along with Amelia’s(were she still alive anyways) at the right times and I just felt connected with the characters. I’m definitely going to be reading its sequel ARISE.

I’ll be back on Wednesday with an awesome giveaway!

~Tally

