Sand DollarTitle: Sand Dollar
Author: Sebastian Cole
Pages: 223 (paperback
Rating: .5/5 stars

So every once in a while I receive books for review, and I usually consider that quite an honor. All of the ARCs I’ve received have been things that I’d pick up at the bookstore, and I’ve enjoyed them, too. Except for Sand Dollar. I’ve carried the not inconsiderable hunk of pages around with me for months, just leaving it in my bag in the hopes that I’ll be somewhere so boring that it is the favorable option. But no. And this makes me incredibly sad. I wanted to like it, and it seemed interesting from the description, but I just can’t do it. It’s like sensory deprivation only you are banging your head against a wall from the sheer stupidity of the characters.

From the description, the book seemed like an interesting pretense: a love story from a male point of view. I hoped to see a completely different set of values in the love triangle than when a female is narrating, and to escape some of the whiny ‘who loves me best’ that bogs down some female romances.

Instead, I found more of the ‘who loves me best’ and more angst than any other romance book I’ve ever read. And at least one of the love interests seemed absolutely deplorable.

But instead of focusing on the negative, I’ll take a moment to explain why Sand Dollar was so uninteresting to me.

  • The supporting cast was zero-dimensional. If you’re a geek like me, you’ll know that the zero dimension is a single point, infinitely small. It represents only potential. And that’s what I felt that the minor characters were. Faceless placeholders that had the potential to become at least one-dimensional.
  • The main characters were two-dimensional. Not only were they two-dimensional in the normal literary sense, they could only see forward, backward, and side to side, as a two-dimensional shape would. In other words, I didn’t feel like any of them had any intuition, or could think about what others were feeling. That makes for a very aggravating read.
  • The events were the opposite of believable. Even the hook of the book required more suspension of disbelief than I was willing to lend it. And that is saying something.
  • The narrative was flat. The man narrating the book told us what was happening. He did not show it. And I couldn’t tell if he had actual feelings for his fiancé. It just didn’t seem real.
  • And so I sit here feeling evil because Sebastian Cole took all the time to write me a letter asking for reviews and sign my book and actually send it to me, and I couldn’t even sit through it to the end. So I’m giving you a chance to either prove me wrong or show me that I’m not alone.

    EDIT: This giveaway has closed.

    One slightly beat up (and signed with another name) copy of Sand Dollar by Sebastian Cole, a themed bookmark, and a matching card with envelope and stamp up for grabs to one lucky person who comments with the title of either a book they just couldn’t stomach or one that they were proven wrong about. Giveaway will end in a couple of weeks, and I’ll get it out as soon as I can after that.

