Title: The Night Circus
Author: Erin Morgenstern
Pages: 387 (Hardcover)
Rating: 4/5

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway—a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love—a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus per­formers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead.

My plans are to review a book every Thursday for the older, adult audience- let’s see how well I do with that. In part I’ve already failed because I had another book to review today but… say, there are so many wonderful books that can provide distractions. Plus I didn’t want to bog you down with another time traveling story. So I bring you THE NIGHT CIRCUS:

“You may tell a tale that takes up residence in someone’s soul, becomes their blood and self and purpose. That tale will move them and drive them and who knows what they might do because of it, because of your words.”

I dearly love this quote. First thing that you’ll notice from this book is the prose, the writing itself. It has a lyrical, flowing, almost dream quality to it. Erin Morgenstern is an artist of words and I don’t say that lightly. Some might find it a little tedious but I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Celia and Marco, the protagonists are wonderful characters and so is the rest of the cast. The twins and Bailey kept my attention the most. I never lost interest in the story and wanted to know the outcome. The romance wasn’t too hurried which is always a plus in my books.

The magic itself was a bit iffy, I felt at times like its structure hadn’t been thought out quite well but it was… magical. Ha, sorry. It’s suppose to be weapon with which said competition is played out but never at any moment did I think of it as a fierce competition as it is described. More like a leisurely collaboration between Celia and Marco. And boy, did they come up with some fascinating ways to use their magic.

The chapters started out with dates(I didn’t notice them until I was halfway through the book) which jumped back and forth on the time line. I found this to be a little confusing and I remember going back several chapters to see when this or that happened chronologically speaking.

I recommend this for a rainy day when you want to snuggle up with a good book in hand and you can savor every word slowly and deliciously. It’s a quite memorable book, for you who love magic in the real world or the magic of a circus, check it out. You may start considering yourself a Rêveur!

~Tally

