Title: WATERFALL
Author: Lisa Tawn Bergren
Pages: 369 (Paperback)
Rating: 3.5/5

While most American teens would kill for an Italian vacation, the Betarrini sisters have spent every summer of their lives there with their archaeologist parents. And they’re not happy to be back. Stuck on yet another hot, dusty dig, they are bored out of their minds…until they place their hands atop handprints in an ancient tomb and find themselves catapulted into the Fourteenth Century. Gabi emerges in the middle of a dream–or nightmare?–with hot Italian knights in a fierce battle. And so begins her quest to return home…while wondering if she wants to at all.

Tally here with the first post of opening week! I’m so excited to be writing this. Let’s start with a little teaser from WATERFALL:

I glanced left and saw that one wasn’t battling any longer; instead, he stared at me as if I were a female Lazarus, emerging from the tomb in my grave clothes.

Caught your attention yet? I spent my every free moment reading this, it’s such a fun read. It follows Gabi Betarrini in her adventure through medieval Italy as she tries to locate her sister Lia when they accidentally time travel back to the era of chivalry and knights in shining armor. It’s funny watching Gabriella attempt to ride saddle side and Ms. Bergren gives depth to Gabi’s situation when she tries to help the heir Forelli with his illness.

The whole time Gabi is trying to find her sister she tries not to fall in love with the young and handsome Forelli son, Marcello, betrothed to Lady Rossi.  Marcello felt a little flat for me a few times but the story was still satisfying.

The bad guys were evil enough and certainly I wouldn’t want to meet any of them. While short, the battle scenes were decent enough(I’m quite the critic when it comes to battle scenes) and the injuries were… detailed enough to be visual and make you cringe. My compliments on that.

The dialogue is a a smart blend of modern with medieval words sprinkled in and the characters offer surprises to keep you reading. The end comes to a quite satisfying conclusion and left me wanting to read the sequels CASCADE and TORRENT.

And so you can see for yourself, I’m hosting a giveaway of WATERFALL!
Just leave a comment with what books you’d like to see reviewed in the future and you’re email so I can contact you if you win. I’ll be posting the winner in a few weeks so stay tuned! This is a U.S. only giveaway.

Don’t forget to come back tomorrow for Rosey’s review!

~Tally

